top of page

Smith wins second feature at Shady Bowl

DeGraff OH (6/18): Quincy, OH driver Josh Smith is off to a strong start to the racing season, as he claimed top spot in the 40 lap Dave Nagel Excavating LLC late model division at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday night (6/18). The race was the Big Bobby and Lil Bobby Korn Memorial held annually to honor the memory of the duo who fielded cars at tracks all over the Midwest. In a Chevy dominated world, Korn always ran Ford powered machines, with automatic transmissions built in his Miamisburg, OH transmission/race shop. The race is normally 72 laps to honor the number of the Korn racers. This season’s race was cut to 40 laps due to the tire shortage issue. Jim Lewis Jr., another driver off to a strong start, took the lead at the drop of the green. Lewis built up a small lead before being ran down by Don Mahaffey Jr. and Josh Smith in his JKS Transport sponsored ride. Smith got by Lewis on lap 14 and never looked back as he sped to the win in his family-owned car. Ironically, the win came in probably the oldest car the team owns. Lewis held on for second, followed by Matt Parsons, Josh Sage, and fast qualifier (13.593) Ryan Fleming. Smith carried the checker for the dash.

The Wooten Automotive and Towing of Urbana Street Stocks rolled off next. Bob Coppock jumped into the lead on lap one. Coppock led the first three circuits before Jason “Gramps” Mahaffey took the lead on lap four. Mahaffey held off Rodney Roush, Chris Parker, Jacob Heckman and Nate Purtee to win his first feature of the season. Parker set quick time with a 14.581 lap. Mahaffey put his Adams Automotive Monte Carlo home first in the dash, with Purtee taking the heat win.

The Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts saw 27 cars start the feature. It turned out to be a survival of the fittest. With that many cars, there was action everywhere. Once the race started, Eddie Kemp was scored the leader of the first four laps. Then Garrett Spriggs took command of the parade until lap 13, when Tony Heath surged past. Heath then set sail for the checker looking for his first win of the season. Fast qualifier Bobby Terry (16.999) was running down Heath. He caught Heath on the white flag and passed him for the win coming off four to the checker. The margin of victory for Terry was .290 seconds. It was the second win of the season for Terry in his Blue Gator Tiki Bar and Restaurant backed Cavalier. Heath was second, followed by Jimmy McElfresh, Jaron Fields and Garrett Spriggs. Devin Glessner won the dash, then had his engine expire in the feature. Alec Young, Chris Prater and Daylan Karnes were heat winners.

In the Bullet Liners of Dayton Thunder Cars, DeGraff’s Buck Purtee once again posted the win in his L&B Automotive Monte Carlo. Hunter Hicks and Purtee swapped the lead the first ten laps before Purtee took over. Scott Drake, Robert Roush, dash winner Corey Wooten and Hicks rounded out the top five. Purtee set quick time (15.355) and Bob Coppock won the heat.

The Compact Powder Puff drivers rounded out the night’s action. Bobbie Jo Parsons won the 15 lap feature in her X-Factor Motor Sports Cavalier. Robin Zornes, Maddie Smith, Hannah Roush and Rebecca Swindler filled out the top five., The only hard crash was Leslie Woods contacting the turn four wall hard. Leslie was unhurt, but car owner Zach Doolin was in rough shape when he saw the damage.

This Saturday night The VORES COMPACT SERIES will be on hand to run the Bowl Bash. The Wooten Automotive and Towing of St. Paris Modifieds, the Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts, the Bullet Liners of Dayton Thunder Cars and the Frazier/Parsons Designs FOMOCO Series will also be on hand. It will also be the rained out modified feature. Below are how the rain checks will be handled.

On Saturday, June 25th and Saturday, July 2nd, we will open the track at 12:00 p.m. On June 25th we will run the make-up Modified feature. The FOMOCO Cruisers make-up feature will be run on July 2nd. You can use your pit/grandstand wristband from June 11th to get into these features only. At the conclusion of each, we will empty the pits/grandstands and then reopen at the normal time 2:00/4:00 p.m.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 6/18/22

Dave Nagel Excavating LLC Late Models:

Fast Qualifier: Ryan Fleming 13.593

Dash winner: Josh Smith

Heat Winners: Jamie Sites and Tyler Parsons

Feature 40 laps Big Bob and Lil Bob Korn Memorial: 1. Josh Smith 2. Jim Lewis Jr. 3. Matt Parsons 4. Josh Sage 5. Ryan Fleming 6. Don Mahaffey Jr. 7. Jamie Sites 8. Logan McPherson 9. Scott Drake 10. Joey Haas 11, Jeremy Niswonger 12. Jacob Muncy 13 Tyler Parsons 14. Dearl Parsons 15. Craig Borland

Wooten Automotive and Towing of Urbana Street Stocks:

Fast qualifier: Chris Parker 14.581

Dash winner: Jason Mahaffey

Heat winner: Nate Purtee

Feature25 laps: 1. Jason Mahaffey 2. Rodney Roush 3. Chris Parker 4. Jacob Heckman 5. Nate Purtee 6. Bob Coppock 7. Tyler Parker 8. Richard Roush 9. Brad Blue 10. Curt Frazier

Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts:

Fast Qualifier: Bobby Terry 16.999

Dash Winner: Devin Glessner

Heat Winners: Alec Young, Chris Prater and Daylan Karnes

Feature: 1. Bobby Terry 2. Tony Heath 3. Jimmy McElfresh 4. Jaron Fields 5. Garrett Spriggs 6. Seth Rager 7. Chase Lang 8. Nick Hall 9. Eddie Kemp 10. Chris Prater 11. Zach Doolin 12. Damien Weigel 13. Dominic Smith 14. Timmy Bailey 15. Donnie Eaton 16. Dean Adams 17. Robin Zornes 18. Scott Henson 19. Billy Hall 20. Josh Thompson 21. Steve Duty 22. Alex George 23. Daylan Karnes 24. Alec Young 25. Devin Glessner 26. Tyler Hughes 27. Cody Massengill

Bullet Liner of Dayton Thundercars:

Fast Qualifier: Buck Purtee 15.355

Dash Winner: Corey Wooten

Heat Winner: Bob Coppock

Feature: 1. Buck Purtee 2. Scott Drake 3. Robert Roush 4. Corey Wooten 5. Hunter Hicks 6. Landon Jones 7. Bob Coppock 8. Corey Plunkett 9. Brandon Helton 10. Brad Blue 11. Richard Roush

Harrod Septic Solutions Powder Puffs:

Fast Qualifier: Bobbie Jo Parsons 17.729

Feature: 1. Bobby Jo Parsons 2. Robin Zornes 3. Maddie Smith 4. Hannah Roush 5. Rebecca Swindler 6. Janet Adams 7. Chloe Lane 8. Savannah Klein 9. Makayla Gardner 10. Kelly Rickard 11. Leslie Woods 12. Audrey Blosser

Josh Smith of Quincy won the 40 lap Korn Memorial Dave Nagle Excavating Late Korn Memorial

Buck Purtee of DeGraff remained undefeated in the Bullet Liners of Dayton Thuner Cars (2)

Jason Mahaffey of Dayton won the Wooten Automotive and Towing of Urbanastreet stock main

Bobby Terry of Dayton was the winner of the Harrod Septic Solutions compact feature.

Bobbie Jo Parsons won the Powder Puff feature (2)

Photos: Isaacs Photos


Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page