top of page

Shady Bowl Speedway kicks off season with 4 winners

DeGRAFF OH: Shady Bowl Speedway kicked off its 2022 racing season with four divisions of stock cars Sunday (4/3). The CRA and VORE’S sanctioning bodies took over the rural oval on a very chilly day but the action on the track was hot. The first series on the track was the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks. Jason Atkinson won the 75 lap event after beating back the challenges of Josh Smith, Austin Maynard and Ryan Amonett thru most of the race. Smith, a local favorite made it all the way back up to second after a mechanical issue forced him to the pits. When the checker flew it was Atkinson, Smith, Maynard, Dalton Connor and J.P. Crabtree finishing one thru five,

The VORES Compact Series were next up for their 30 lap main. Hoosier driver Chis Jennings proved all his series crowns were no fluke as he dominated the event. Karter Stark and Bo Hoelscher for second spot before Stark got by with just a few laps remaining. Kyle Frame was fourth and Justin Courtney fifth. Nicholas Meade carried the checker for the “B” main.

The Vores Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman were next out for a 50 lap main. Brad Coons and Chad Pendelton started up front and battled the first eight laps. But it was not to be as fast qualifier Ryan Fleming motored by and never looked back, as he put on a driving clinic in his new ride. Fleming was behind the wheel of Wootens Automotive and Towing brand new hot rod. Coons held on for second. With Pendelton third, Billy Hudson fourth and Caleb Reschar fifth.

The modified field saw favorite Jerry Stapleton of Troy take command of the race and was never challenged as he claimed first place money. Mark Timmerman, Adam Lee, Bob Sibila Jr., and Mike Carroll filled out the top five.

Jerry Stapleton

Chris Jennings

Jason Atkinson

Ryan Fleming


Van Hoy oil CRA Street Stocks

Fast Qualifier: Jason Mahaffey 14.957

75 lap Feature: 1. Jason Atkinson 2. Josh Smith 3. Austin Maynard 4. Dalton Conner 5. J.P. Crabtree 6. Ryan Amonett 7. Blaine Akin 8. Rodney Roush 9. Dawson Phillips 10. Jamie Sites 11. Nathan Greene 12. Alan Williams Jr. 13. Buck Purtee 14. Jason Mahaffey 15. Logan Maynard 16. Brad Blue 17. Troy Phillips 18. Garrett Adams 19. Hunter King

D&J Sale B4 Series

25 lap B Main winner: Nicholas Meade

VCTS Ault, Henderson & Lewis

Fast Qualifier: Gary Eaton Jr. 15.811

30 lap Feature: 1. Chris Jennings 2. Karter Stark 3. Bo Hoelscher 4. Kyle Frame 5. Jason Courtney 6. Terry Eaton Jr. 7. Yogi Metz 8. Jeff Vore 9. Sean Frederick 10. Travis Lee 11. Aaron Tatman 12. Trent Gossar 13. Gary Eaton Jr. 14. Curtis Finlayson 15. Matthew Stratton 16. Clayton Oliver 17. Warren Barrard 18. Ron Sagers 19. Justin Brown

Vores Welding CRA Late Models

Fast Qualifier: Ryan Fleming 13.624

50 Lap feature: 1. Ryan Fleming 2. Brad Coons 3. Chad Pendleton 4. Billy Hutson 5. Caleb Reschar 6. Steve Poniatowski 7. Jake Hinton 8. Kyle Worley 9. Jimmy Kirby 10. Kaden White 11. Greg Stilwel Jr. 12. Don Mahaffey Jr. 13. Jess Drook 14. Nash Engdahl 15. Kent Carson 16. Nathan Greene 17. Cassten Everidge 18. Jason Timmerman 19. Matt Maurer 20. Ron Allen 21. Josh Sage


Fast Qualifier: Jerry Stapleton 13.652

40 lap feature: 1. Jerry Stapleton 2. Mark Timmerman 3. Adam Lee 4. Bob Sibila Jr. 5. Mike Carroll 6. Cory Wooten 7. Cory Pressler


Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page