top of page

Mountain View hosts $1,000-to-win front wheel drive shootout

SPRING CITY, TN – The Front-Wheel-Drive Division will compete in the $1,000-to-win Dirty South Motorsports 50-lap Shootout this Saturday night at Mountain View Raceway. There will also be Weekly Points Racing for the Late Model, Sportsman, Open-Wheel Modified, B-Hobby, Thunder, and Junior Front-Wheel-Drive Divisions.

The Front-Wheel-Drive event sponsor, Dirty South Motorsports, has put up the extra money and a special fan friendly race format. The Front-Wheel-Drives will Hot Lap, and then Qualify. The Top 20 Qualifiers will be locked into the Main Event, and the 13th and 23rd fastest qualifiers will receive a $50 Bonus Award from Dirty South Motorsports.

Another Award from Dirty South Motorsports will be the Rear Start Challenge. Any of the Top 20 Qualifiers can choose to start at the rear of the Main Event, and if they can finish 1st, 2nd, or 3rd in the 50-lap Main Event, they will receive a $100 Bonus from Dirty South Motorsports.

Once that has been decided, there will be one more bit of business to be taken care of before the Big Show. To make it better show for the fans, the Top 20 Qualifiers will draw for their starting spots in the $1,000-to-win 50-lap Main Event. Qualifiers 21 on back will compete in a B Feature Race. Saturday night’s race will be a non-points event for the Front-Wheel-Drive Division.

Mountain View Raceway has become the Front-Wheel-Drive Headquarters in East Tennessee, as they average over 30 cars each week, with car counts that have been known to climb into the 40s. The ¼-mile high-banked clay oval is just right for great action with the Front-Wheel-Drive Division.

Nathan Adams of Crossville, TN has 11 Front-Wheel-Drive wins this season at Mountain View Raceway in the Adams Racing Special and is capable winning anywhere he starts from. Josh Scealf of Decatur, TN is the current Front Wheel-Drive point leader at Mountain View Raceway driving the J&S Towing Honda.

Other top FWD entrants expected include Ethan Johnson of Crossville, TN in the Johnson Racing Special, Jacob Sharp of Crossville, TN driving the Sharp Race Cars Chevrolet, Dakota Leffew of Decatur, TN in the Quality Construction Chevrolet, Marcus Smith of Spring City, TN in the TN Trailers Honda, Marcus Huston of Decatur, TN driving the Huston Racing Special, Lilly Qualls of Cleveland, TN in the Century 21 Chevrolet, and Nick Adams of Crossville, TN in the Adams Racing Special.

Barry Goodman of Spring City, TN leads the Late Model point standings in quest of his fourth Mountain View Raceway Track Championship driving the Charlie’s Used Auto Parts CVR. Addison Cardwell of Knoxville, TN is the Sportsman point leader in the Cardwell Racing Racket, and Jimmy Dalton of Powell, TN leads the Open-Wheel Modified point standings driving the Willett Powder Coating Elite.

Brady Lee of Knoxville, TN is the B-Hobby Division point leader in the Lee’s Mountain Retreat Camaro and the Thunder point leader is Casey Cash of Spring City, TN driving the Duncan Family Automotive Camaro. Nine-year-old Frankie Sharp of Crossville, TN in the Sharp Race Cars Chevrolet is the Junior Front-Wheel-Drive point leader.

On Saturday night, the Pit Gate opens at 3 p.m. and the Grandstand and Tier Parking Gates open at 4 p.m. The Mandatory Pre-Race Registration and Technical Inspection will be from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m. The Drivers Meeting is set for 6:15 p.m. and Hot Laps are scheduled for 6:45 p.m.

Pit Passes are $25 for Adults, $15 for Children 6-11, and Children 5 and under are admitted Free. The General Admission and Tier Parking ticket prices are $10 for race fans 12 and older, Children 6-11 are $5. and Children 5 and under are admitted Free. All Children must be accompanied by an Adult.

Mountain View Raceway where you can get “Your Thrill By The Hill” is located at 20626 Rhea County Highway (U.S. Highway 27), Spring City, TN 37381. For more information, call 423-405-8490 or visit the track website at You can also like the Mountain View Raceway Facebook page at


LATE MODEL: 1. Barry Goodman, Spring City, TN, 524; 2. Jeff Jackson, Ooltewah, TN, 422; 3. Tommy Miller, Soddy Daisy, TN, 356; 4. Addison Cardwell, Knoxville, TN, 354; 5. Donnie Van Winkle, Soddy Daisy, TN, 332; 6. Brian Selby, Sparta, TN, 310; 7. Jeremy Thurman, Rockwood, TN, 298; 8. Josh Collins, Knoxville, TN, 240; 9. Michael Smith, Crossville, TN, 236; 10. Kelby Norwood, Etowah, TN, 216.

SPORTSMAN: 1. Addison Cardwell, Knoxville, TN, 440; 2. Brandon Stanfield, Soddy Daisy, TN, 430; 3. Bradley Goodman, Spring City, TN, 420; 4. Christian James, Soddy Daisy, TN, 328; 5. D.J. McMahan, Cedar Ridge, TN, 318; 6. Tyler Dennis, Dayton, TN, 298; 6. Cody Youngblood, Rockwood, TN, 298; 8. Jeremy Shannon, Wartburg, TN, 262; 9. John Smith, Soddy Daisy, TN, 220; 10. Skylar Delaney, Sparta, TN, 180.

OPEN-WHEEL MODIFIED: 1. Jimmy Dalton, Powell, TN, 484; 2. Kyle Shadden, Dayton, TN, 406; 3. Scott Iles, Evensville, TN, 356; 4. David Lester, Rockwood, TN, 340; 5. Billy Palmer, Knoxville, TN, 338; 6. Jay Metcalfe, Rockwood, TN, 254; 7. Dale Nance, Wartburg, TN, 244; 8. Joe Freels, Coalfield, TN, 226; 9. Matthew Hopper, Lancing, TN, 168; 10. Robby Reagan, Crossville, TN, 150.

B-HOBBY; 1. Brady Lee, Knoxville, TN, 244; 2. Kenneth Daniels, Spring City, TN, 216; 3. Jim Gilbert, Rossville, GA, 184; 4. Dylan Johnson, Dunlap, TN, 140; 5. Adrian Williams, Chattanooga, TN, 90; 6. Jerry Spence, Spring City, TN, 82; 7. Allen Singleton, Oliver Springs, TN, 76; 8. Lamar Hughes, Soddy Daisy, TN, 48; 8. Matthew Crabtree, Athens, TN, 48; 10. Johnny Hughes, Graysville, TN, 44; 10. Robert Creasman, Dayton, TN, 44.

4-CYLINDER: 1. Landon Fitzgerald, Dayton, TN, 228; 2. Joseph Harmon, Evensville, TN, 126; 3. Josh Nelson, Rockwood, TN, 118; 3. Devon Ellis, Madisonville, TN, 118; 5. Gracie Duggan, Lenoir City, TN, 98; 6. Daniel Moody, Hiskel, TN, 94; 6. Nathan Davis, Madisonville, TN, 94; 8. Troy Brayden, Coalfield, TN, 88; 9. Ricky Harmon, Evensville, TN, 50; 9. Austin Lankford, Decatur, TN, 50.

THUNDER: 1. Casey Cash, Spring City, TN, 464; 2. Chris Williams, Soddy Daisy, TN, 458; 3. Scott Smith, Soddy Daisy, TN, 412; 4. Bobby Davenport, Crossville, TN, 276; 5. Zaniel Rogge, Spring City, TN, 248; 6. Chase Hoffman, Dayton, TN, 232; 7. Eric Honeycutt, Rockwood, TN, 204; 8. Jayden Woods, Spring City, TN, 166; 9. Daniel Parker, Cleveland, TN, 126; 10. Malachi Yarger, Spring City, TN, 120.

FRONT-WHEEL-DRIVE: 1. Josh Scealf, Decatur, TN, 610; 2. Nathan Adams, Crossville, TN, 546; 3. Ethan Johnson, Crossville, TN, 356; 4. Jacob Sharp, Crossville, TN, 342; 5. Dakota Leffew, Decatur, TN, 318; 6. Bo Millsaps, Decatur, TN, 294; 7. Marcus Smith, Spring City, TN, 262; 8. Marcus Huston, Decatur, TN, 242; 9. Lilly Qualls, Cleveland, TN, 234; 10. Nick Adams, Crossville, TN, 230.

JUNIOR FRONT-WHEEL-DRIVE: 1. Frankie Sharp, Crossville, TN, 386; 2. Steven Clowers, Englewood, TN, 378; 3. Chevy Adams, Crossville, TN, 366; 4. Josiah Singleton, Oliver Springs, TN, 290; 5. Ronnie Sharp, Crossville, TN, 248; 6. Rebeacca Gresham, Decatur, TN, 232; 7. Emma Qualls, Cleveland, TN, 138; 8. Addison Cross, Cleveland, TN, 120; 9. Breanna Huston, Ten Mile, TN, 114; 10. Masen Spence, Spring City, TN, 108.

Front-Wheel-Drive Division point leader Josh Scealf of Decatur, TN in the J&S Towing Honda will be one of the top contenders this Saturday night in the $1,000-to-win Dirty South Motorsports Shootout 50-lap Main Event at Mountain View Raceway in Spring City, TN. (Mountain View Raceway Media Photo by Young Gunz Photography)


Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page