top of page

John Clawson Looks for 4th Championship at Kinross Speedpark

It’s racing under the lights this Friday Night, August 30th at the Kinross Speedpark.

With two events remaining on the schedule, the points battles will wrap up this week as part of the track’s Championship Night during the Chippewa County Fair.

(Cars will return one week later for the 15th Annual running of the Memorial Invitational in Memory of Randy Dewitt and Ted Brooks).

As for the upcoming event this Friday, time trials are set for 6 PM with racing to follow at 7:30 PM.

Main grandstand admission (as set by the Chippewa County Fair Board) is $12 USD for Adults $8 USD for Children (4-12) while 3 & Under are FREE.

Division-by-division, some interesting storylines present themselves before the cars hit the 1/4 mile asphalt oval this week.

JOHN CLAWSON will be looking for his 4th career track championship when he takes a seven point lead into the night in the Modified Division.

The Pickford, MI product has previously won the ABC-B Division Championship (Pure Stock) in 2009 and 2007 while he laid claim to the 4-Cylinder Division title in 2004 and now looks to stay in the top spot in his Tyler Rye owned machine.

Clawson leads STEVE SADDISON (Alanson, MI) while DUSTIN JACKSON (Sault Ste. Marie, ON) holds onto third overall.

In the ABC Stock Car A-Division, JOHN CARTER (Sault Ste. Marie, ON) will be searching to become the 5th different champion in the last five years.

Currently he leads 2016 Track Champion KEENAN SPURWAY (Sault Ste. Marie, ON) by 4 points while DENNIS AHO (Sault Ste. Marie, MI) sits in third.

Pickford, MI pilot TODD NYBERG (#72) is eyeing up his first-career championship. The long-time veteran and supporter of Kinross has the most comfortable lead in all the divisions at the track.

His twenty-nine point lead over 2017 and 2018 Champion BUDDY PALAHNUK (Goulais River, ON) is a large gap while CHRIS TOMS (Brimley, MI) is only four points further back in third.

While in the ABC Stock Cars C-Division, Petoskey, MI pilot GILLIAN HOWARD looks to make her jump up a division a successful one by holding onto the division lead when the checker flag flies.

Her advantage sits at twelve points over JON DIODATI (Sault Ste. Marie, ON) before SCOTT JUDAY rounds out the top three.

ROB WAGNER (Prince Township, ON) can become the 15th different champion in sixteen years in the Four Cylinder Division with his twelve point lead.

Behind him two drivers, KEN FEWCHUK (Sault Ste. Marie, ON) and JOHN WIEMAN (Harbor Springs, MI) sit tied for second.

For full information you can find the Kinross Speedpark online at and LIKE them on their social media network on Facebook at

To get to the track take I-75 to Exit 378 and follow the signs to the Chippewa County Fairgrounds.

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page