top of page

Hudson Drives to Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stock Shadybowl Victory

DEGRAFF (OH) August 24, 2019 – For the second year in a row Owensboro, Kentucky Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stock driver Brett Hudson steered his #00 Chevrolet to the Shadybowl Speedway (OH) CRA Street Stock Four Crown 200 victory. A race rescheduled from early spring, Hudson would chase local shoe, Buck Purtee for the whole first half staying within striking distance in the top four all evening. The strike would come with less than 20 laps to go when Hudson willed his way to the lead and then fend of the charge of another local, Don Mahaffey Jr., on a late race restart to secure the win.

“When we got into the lapped traffic the last half I was able to close ground and I got a run on him,” noted Hudson. “Trying to pass him clean me and Buck are buddies. There was a little rubbing, that’s short track racing, there was a little beating and banging. To get this win two years in a row feels good. Track position meant so much tonight, on those restarts you just have to go, you can’t just ride here. So, it worked out tonight.”

23 well prepared Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks would make up the pit area as Chad Pendleton would set Allstar Performance Fast Time and then draw an eight for the starting field inversion, putting Purtee on the front row alongside Pole sitter J.J. Schafer, Hudson would start sixth. By lap three Purtee had scooted out on top of the field showing the way. The first 100 laps saw five yellow flags as Purtee was on cruise control. Both Hudson and Josh Poore would move into contention and run with the leader, but unable to mount a charge as the 10-minute halfway break came up.

After the break the last 100 laps turned into a barn burner as Purtee took up right where he left off, at the front. This time, however, Hudson and Poore stayed right in his tracks. Poore would move by Hudson to second until three laps later Hudson repaid the favor on his way after the leader back to second. Just two yellows dropped as Hudson was mounting his charge and would get inside Purtee after a timely friendly tap just enough to get inside. The next lap Hudson was the leader and with seven to go the yellow would once again come out for the final time. A double file restart with Purtee on the outside, the first time all night. This proved fatal as Purtee got stuck there as Hudson moved on as Poore and now Mahaffey Jr. blasted by. The next lap Mahaffey Jr. blew by Poore, but too late. Hudson willed his way to the checkered flag, Mahaffey Jr. was second, Poore third, Purtee survived for fourth, and Andrew Teepe was fifth.

“I felt like I had the best car all race long,” added Hudson. “I just kept having to start on the outside on those restarts. I would lose a spot or two every time. I just knew that was not going to work out, so, I just had to get to the bottom as quick as I could, it is so hard to pass here. At the halfway break we just cleaned up some things fixed some damage and went back out, the car was good.”

The win gives Hudson two straight Four Crown victories after also winning the August 10th Four Crown event at Anderson Speedway. For his pass of Purtee to get the win, Hudson was awarded the AR Bodies Cool Move of the Race Award.

Teepe came from the back of the field after being involved in an early on track altercation, which resulted in a torn off left front fender. For his efforts coming from the tail and being the highest finishing series points regular, Teepe was awarded the KRJ Race Products Sweet Move of the Race Award.

With his sixth place finish, Jason Atkinson claimed the 2019 Four Crown Points Championship, which comes with a $1,000 cash bonus and a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing. Jason Thompson was second in Four Crown points and picked up a $600 cash bonus. Teepe would finish in third in Four Crown points and received a $400 cash bonus. 2018 Five Crown Champion Jacob McElfresh and leading series rookie Dallas Frueh picked up the $250 random draw cash bonuses from the drivers that attended all the Four Crown events.

The tracks local drivers in the Dave Nagel Excavating Late Model division and Wooten Modifieds took to the oval. Jim Lewis Jr. drove his Shatto Motor Sports late model to victory. The modified feature went to Brad Yelton in the Redskin Motor Sports entry. The Thunder Roadsters rounded out the night with Jason Powers winning the feature. The track will host “First Responders Night” with local police and fire personnel admitted for half price to the grandstands. The Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models, Wooten Modifieds, Amsoil Street Stocks, Noble Armor Coating Mini stocks and Heath and Sons Farms Thunder Cars will be in action. Racing will begin at 7.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 8/24/19

CRA Street Stocks Van Hoy Oil Series

200 lap feature: 1.Brett Hudson 2. Don Mahafey Jr 3. Josh Poore 4. Buck Purtee 5. Andrew Temple 6. Jason Atkinson 7. Josh Way 8. Jacob McElfresh 9, Jason Mahaffey 10. Jeremie Wiggins 11. Dallas Frush 12. James Kirby III 13. Brandon Tregemmbo 14. Rodney Roush 15. J.J. Schafer 16. Don Gregory Jr. 17. Chad Pendelton 18. Austin Wretsctiko 19. Josh Sage 20. Jacob Muncy 21. Jason Thompson 22.Ryan Amonett

Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models:

Fast qualifier: Ryan Fleming 13.586

Dash winner: Don Mahaffey Jr

Heat winners: Curt Frazier and Kenny George

Feature: 1. Jim Lewis Jr 2. Matt Parsons 3. Don Mahaffey Jr 4. Cody Robinson 5. Kenny George 6. Caleb Recshar 7. Jesse Gade 8. Daryl McKay 9. Burgess White 1o. Curt Frazier 11. Bill Cantley 12. Tyler Marsh 13. Brian Fries 14. Buddy Townsend 15. Tyler Mahaffey 16. Zach Brandeberry 17. Curtis Noble 18. Shawn Szep 19. Ryan Fleming

Wooten Automotive Modifieds:

Fast qualifier: Bill Burba 13.674

Dash winner: Logan McPherson

Heat winners: Andy Bohn and Jerry Stapleton

Feature: 1. Brad Yelton 2. Chris Parker 3. Bill Burba 4. Jerry Stapleton 5. Greg Stapleton 6. Mike Carroll 7. Daniel McPherson 8. Kyle Purvis 9. Scott Jones 10. Doug Hewitt Jr 11.Terry Humphrey 12. Buddy Townsend 13, Bob Grubaugh 14. Rob Dutra 15. Logan McPherson 16. Andy Bohn

Thunder Roadsters:

Feature: 1. Jason Powers 2. Doug Dugger 3. Gregg Cory 4. Chase Layne 5. Brad Kendall 6. Bob Lemons 7. Chad Cory

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page