Drivers Dedicate Wins to Holland, Holbrook at Shady Bowl Speedway

DeGraff OH: The temperature was just right for racing at Shady Bowl Saturday night, Aug. 3. Three classes took to the track with karts being added for an exhibition. The night started out on a solemn note as we remembered two of our drivers. Shortly after the late model feature Columbus driver Mike Holland had health issues. Unfortunately Mike passed away Sunday afternoon. Chris Holbrook, a crew member for Jeremy Niswonger passed away Thursday of natural causes. Both will be missed.

It was Elmer Schaeffer Amsoil Zoil Racing Night.

The Wooten Modifieds took to the track for their 30 lap feature, Scott Jones of Columbus led the field to the checkered flag. The win was the first for Jones who dedicated his win to Holland. Daniel McPherson, Brad Yelton, Greg Stapleton and Logan McPherson rounded out the top five. Stapleton set quick time, with Josh Smith taking the dash. Chris Parker and Rob Bryant were heat winners.

The Nobel Armor Coating mini stocks took to the track next. It turned into a real dogfight as Jeremy Niswonger and Buck Purtee burned up the pavement in a great battle. When the checker flew it was Niswonger first at the checker with Purtee second. Niswonger dedicated his win to late crew member Chris Holbrook. Following Purtee were David Young ,Jimmie Huffman Jr.,and Leann Swink.

Fast qualifier was Niswonger with the dash going to Purtee. Alec Young and Jimmie Huffman Jr won heat races.

The Heath and Sons Farms Thunder Cars Series event was won by Jared Henderson out of Kennard, Indiana. Second place was a real battle between Mike Pippin and Dale Harper, with Pippin coming out on top. Dustin Sapp and Alan Lambert rounded out the top five. Sapp set fast time with Andy Pine winning the dash. Joe Carroll won the heat race for his first win.

The Karts put on an exibition race that was won by David Gerstner.

This Saturday (8/10) will be “Kids Night”. There will be big wheel races, penny scrambles and free book bags with school supplies inside. Book bag give-a-way is while supply last. On the racetrack will be the Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models. Amsoil Street Stocks, Nobel Armor Coating mini stocks and the Heath and Sons Farms Thunder Cars. The Vintage race cars (VARC) will also be there. Racing will start at 7.

Proud member of Contingency Connection’s $150,000 Racer Rewards Program

Shady Bowl Speedway results 8-3-19 Elmer Schaeffer Amsoil Zoil Racing

Wooten Modifieds:

Fast Qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.746

Dash winner: Josh Smith

Heats: Chris Parker and Rob Bryant

30 lap Amsoil feature: 1. Scott Jones 2. Daniel McPherson 3. Brad Yelton 4. Greg Stapleton 5. Logan McPherson 6. Bob Grubaugh 7. Bill Burba 8. Chris Parker 9. Josh Smith 10. Jerry Stapleton 11. Buddy Townsend 12. Rob Dutra 13. Greg Winget 14. Steve Snapp 15. Don Skaggs 16. Rob Bryant

Nobel Armor Coating Mini Stocks

Fast Qualifier: Jeremy Niswonger 16.666

Dash: Buck Purtee

Heat: Alec Young and Jimmie Huffman Jr.

Feature 20 laps: 1. Jeremy Niswonger 2, Buck Purtee 3. David Young 4. Jimmie Huffman 5. Andrea Swink 6. Rob Taylor IV 7. Damien Weigel 8. Kevin Baggett. 9. Chase Lang

10. Nick Hall 11. BJ Shoffner 12. Alec Young 13. Dustin Hughes 14 Clint Armbruster 15. Justin Kemp 16. Randy Shannon 17. David Asher

Heath and Sons Farms Thunder Cars

Fast qualifier: Dustin Sapp 15.549

Dash: Andy Pine

Heat: Joe Carroll

Feature 50 laps: 1. Jared Henderson 2. Mike Pippin 3. Dale Harper 4. Dustin Sapp 5. Alan Lambert 6. Jason Purtee 7. Craig Borland 8. Patrick Woods 9. Joe Carroll 10. Andy Pine 11. Frankie Oakes 12. Will Gregory 13. Scottie Marquis

Jared Henderson won the 50 lap Heath and Sons Farms Thunder Car Main.

Jeremy Niswonger won the Nobel Armor Coating mini stock feature