top of page

McCarty rockets to second straight win

Lane, Crumbley, Canter, Austin also visit victory lane at Kingsport Speedway

KINGSPORT, Tenn. (June 29, 2019) - Ronnie McCarty rocketed to the front of the field Friday night at Kingsport Speedway and then fended off defending track champion Zeke Shell for his second straight victory.

McCarty, a two-time track champion in the No. 5 Ford, passed early leader Nik Williams on lap 39 of the 60-lap Late Model Stock feature for the NASCAR All-American Weekly Racing Series.

The Kingsport driver then held off Shell over the closing laps on the 3/8-mi

le concrete oval for his third win of the season. With a slick race track, good grip with the tires became a premium.

“We were really good tonight,” McCarty said. “The best thing you could do was get forward bite. We had the best forward bite here. Nik was fast and so was Hayden (Woods). Zeke gave me a hard fight. They got after me and I like it.”

Johnson City’s Shell, driver of the No. 1 Ford, held off Wayne Hale of Bluff City to take the runner-up spot. He pulled alongside McCarty for a pair of late restarts, but wasn’t able to stay ahead of the No. 5 car.

Nevertheless, it was a good night for Shell racing his close friend for the win.

“We’re like brothers. There’s nobody I would rather see in front of me at the end,” Shell said. “We’ve battled before and torn each other’s doors off. Now, we have a lot of respect for each other and know how to drive each other.”

Hale maintained the third position ahead of Gray’s Joey Trent in a battle of Chevrolet drivers.

“That was a good hard-fought race,” Hale said. “We tried some new stuff on the car and it worked. We gained a lot tonight. We’ve been running Motor Mile (Speedway) on Saturdays and brought some things we’ve been running there to this track. We will do a little more homework, get a little more horses under the hood and try to get two more positions.”

Trent finished fourth and Lance Gatlin rounded out the top five in a second McCarty car.

Williams was sixth followed by Bryson Dennis, Derek Lane, Rick Pannell and Trey Lane.

Woods ran as high as second before a failure of his right front wheel caused him to crash hard into the turn 2 wall. He was uninjured in the accident.


Trey Lane followed up the top 10 in the Late Model race with his second straight win in the Mod Street division.

Starting in the fourth position, Lane quickly worked his way to the front in the No. 9 Dodge Challenger. From there, he held off challenges from Alex Miller and Royce Peters for the win.

It was the fifth win this season for Lane. Fellow Kingsport driver Peters finished second, while Rusty Clendenin emerged from a last-lap, paint-swapping battle with Miller to take third.


Kevin Canter from Abingdon, Va., got back on the winning track with his ninth Mod 4 victory of the year.

Canter, in the black No. 3 Ford, passed Billy Duty for the lead early in the 30-lap feature and then held off Dennis Arnold, winner of the previous two Mod 4 races for the win.

Arnold finished second and Duty rounded out the top three.


Bruce Crumbley of Kingsport fended off the challenge of runner-up Josh Detwiler for his third win of the season in the Pure 4 division.

Points leader Keith Helton made a charge from ninth to third over the first eight laps, but stalled out behind the top two.

Doug Austin of Castlewood, Va., won for the ninth time in 10 Pure Street races this season. He passed Bruce Blessing for the lead on lap 10 of the 25-lap feature.

Blessing held on for the runner-up spot ahead of defending class champion Jay Swecker.




1. Ronnie McCarty #5-Kingsport, TN 2. Zeke Shell #1-Johnson City, TN 3. Wayne Hale #19-Bluff City, TN 4. Joey Trent #26-Gray, TN 5. Lance Gatlin #51-Jefferson City, TN 6. Nik Williams #32-Chuckey, TN 7. Bryson Dennis #15-Greeneville, TN 8. Derek Lane #28-Kingsport, TN 9. Rick Pannell #33-Kingsport, TN 10. Trey Lane #57-Kingsport, TN 11. Hayden Woods #6-Piney Flats, TN 12. Mardy Roberts #55-Kingsport, TN 13. Jerry Broyles #72-Jonesborough, TN


1. Trey Lane #9 2. Royce Peters #42 3. Rusty Clendenin #27 4. Alex Miller #37 5. Paul Shull #48 6. Kevin Canter #47 7. Bryan Young #13 8. Richard Adkins #73 9. Luke Fox #94 10. Kevin Wolfe #17 11. Virgil Young #31 12. Daniel McMurray #0?

PURE 4 (30 laps)

1. Bruce Crumbley #33 2. Josh Detwiler #38D 3. Keith Helton #9 4. Bucky Smith #99 5. William Hale #47 6. Lance Pratt #51 7. Josh Collins #77 8. Craig Phelps #00 9. Justin Hartsock #6 10. Paul Stanley #40 11. Josh Trinkle #68 12. Larry Stapleton #15 13. Brian Eggers #20 14. Billy Walters #4 15. Joey Amburgey #17 16. Ronathon Boggs #26 17. Nick Jennings #16 18. Nasty Jones #13 19. Chris Stine #10

MOD 4 (30 laps)

1. Kevin Canter #3 2. Dennis Arnold #71 3. Billy Duty #2 4. Chris Amburgey #17 5. James Deese #14 6. Jessie Amburgey #7 7. Randall Artrip #1 8. Bob Talbert #17 9. Hershell Robinette #9

PURE STREET (25 laps)

1. Doug Austin #18 2. Bruce Blessing #10 3. Jay Swecker #77 4. Tony Dockery #05 5. Kevin Darnell #4 6. Ricky Payne #1 7. Jeremy Draughn #7 8. Brian Eggers #20 9. Tim Hensley #37 10. Jessica Payne #12 11. Jessica Spangler #07 12. Sam Ferguson #1

Next race – Friday, July 5th

Next practice – July 3rd, 5-9 p.m.

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page