top of page

Ahner wins in thrilling fashion at Evergreen Raceway

Steve Shultz, the defending Plum Air Late Model champion, showed exactly why he is a two-time Evergreen champion in the Late Model division, sweeping both Friday night features.

Brian Romig Jr. would lead the first 11 laps in the Mike Snyder Memorial make up event held over from May 26 holding off Shultz. Shultz would then move around Romig and cruise to victory. Your top four would be Shultz, Romig, Maynor and Steigerwalt.

In the regularly scheduled late model feature Shultz would grab the lead on lap two after a great side by side battle with Romig and cruise to his second win of the night. Maynor would finish 2nd over Romig and Steigerwalt.

The A&R Building Supply 4-cylinder division never disappoint. Opening shot was fired by TJ Kapish as he out-dueled Jay Kanor to the finish in the 20 lap main event. Kanor would jump out to the lead on lap three and lead until the first yellow flew on lap nine for Tony Hilliard who would lose a right front tire. Kanor and Jimmy Ayre would lead the field back to the green but on the following lap Oswald and Ayre would tangle in turn four sending both cars to the rear of the field. Kapish would take advantage on the final restart to hold off Kanor, Shawn Kistler, Jay Skupski and Travis Solomon.

Kenzie Adams who is just 14 years old would capture her very first stock car win Friday night as she outran Ryan Burkett in the 15 lap Junior 4 Cylinder event. Adams would not have it easy as Burkett would look high and low for 15 circuits. Adams would hold steady and grab her career first feature win bringing home the checkered.

Broc Brown would lead the field to the green in the 50-lap street stock main event. Jason Harman would spin before one lap would be completed and a complete restart would ensue. Racing action would get hot and heavy throughout the event as Brown and Ahner would rage war with some great side by side racing action throughout the event. Ahner would nip Brown on the outside on lap 9 as the two would battle tightly side by side. At the halfway point Brown was still in command over Ahner, Mike Pollack, Jason Beers and Mike Harman who would work his way back into the top 5. A lap 48 restart would set the stage for a fantastic finish as the field would double up coming to the green. Brown and Ahner would run side by side for the next lap in a half. Coming to the finish in turn 3 Brown would fade with a broken rear end handing the win to Todd Ahner. Pollack would finish second followed by Harman, Beers and Kevin Makarewicz.

Evergreen Raceway is proud to be home of the Contingency Connection $150,000 Racers program. All winners receive the coupon book in victory lane.

Late Model Make up 5/26 (30 Laps). 1. Shultz. 2. Romig Jr. 3. Roger Maynor 4. Geno Steigerwalt

Late Model Feature (30 Laps) 1. Shultz 2. Maynor 3. Romig Jr. 4. Steigerwalt

4 Cylinder Feature (25 Laps) 1. Kapish 2. Kanor 3. Kistler. 4. Skupski. 5. Solomon. 6. Zeb Farber 7. Kevin Kruczek 8. Ryan Burkett. 9. Josh Oswald. 10. Bob Doknovitch 11. Evan Rygielski. 12. Jimmy Ayre. 13. Steve Kreitzer. 14. Bob Azarowitcz. 15. Tony Hilliard.

Jr 4 Cylinder (15 Laps) 1. Adams. 2. Burkett. 3 Elia Tito

Street Stocks (50 Laps) 1. Ahner. 2. Pollack. 3. Harman. 4. Beers. 5. Makarewicz. 6. Broc Brown. 7. Brian Halecki.

8. Anthony Tombasco. 9. Frank Hughes Jr. 10. Ken Ernie. 11. Brennen Coulter

Evergreen Raceway is proud to be associated with Fairway Chevrolet, American Property Solutions, Wanick Construction, Franzosa Trucking, Harry’s U-Pull It, Barbush Auto Sales, S&D Bodyline, CK Auto Service and Race Fab, Rock Auto, Evans Roadhouse, Himmer Graphics, Evergreen Lawn Care, A&R Building Supplies and Morans Funeral Home and Triple Clear Water Solutions and Plum Air.

Steve Shultz

TJ Kapish

Jimmy Ayre

Broc Brown

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page