top of page

Kids win backpacks at Shady Bowl Speedway races Aug. 11

Muncy, Carroll, Pope, Purtee, Sage zoom to wins in their divisions

Jason Purtee of DeGraff swept the Hangar 18 Race Cars Hobby Stocks setting fast time and winning the feature.

DeGraff OH (8/11) - It was a full night of entertainment for local race fans, as Shady Bowl Speedway put fives classes in action. In addition to the racing, it was “Kids Night”. The “Kids Night” is an annual event that is designed to get free bookbags/backpacks free to the kids as they prepare to return to school. There was also big wheel racing. The kids were divided into three age groups. The winners were presented bikes from CS&SS LLC. Second spot received a cash prize from Frazier Racing with third spot getting gift cards from the speedway. There was also a penny/candy scramble.The Noble Racing team brought a Piper Cub plane and dropped candy in the infield. A big thanks to Ohio Signs for donating and serving up free ice cream.

The 35 lap Dave Nagel Excavating feature saw Columbus driver Jacob Muncy take the lead at the drop of the green flag. Buddy Townsend settled into second spot as fast. Fast qualifier Josh Smith battled his way to third, with Mike Ward fourth. Muncy was able to hold off Townsend the entire way to post his third feature win of 2018. Townsend was chased across the finish line by Smith, Ward and Kenny George. Smith won the dash, with Muncy and Bill Cantley picking up heat wins.

Mike Carroll of Cedarville won the Biggins Small Engine Repair Modified  feature.

The Biggins Small Engine Repair Modifieds had a good field of cars as seventeen drivers took the green for the feature. Troy driver Jerry Stapleton jumped out front at the drop of the green flag. Stapleton was able to lead the parade of cars until lap 20, when Mike Carroll motored by. Carroll, of Cedarville led the last ten counters in his KEG Motorsports open wheeler. Townsend matched his second place finish in the late models, when he was second in the modified main.

Point leader Logan McPherson, Jerry Stapleton and Kevin Doran rounded out the top five. The race was redflagged on lap fourteen for a melee on the backchute. The cars of Greg Stapleton and Brian Brandyberry suffered heavy damage. All drivers were uninjured.

Logan McPherson was the dash winner, with Rob Dutra and Buddy Townsend picking up heat win money.

In street stock action, it was Randy Walton taking the lead as starter Charlie Gifford waved the green flag. Walton led the first fifteen laps before fast qualifier Josh Sage took the lead. Sage, from Piqua, had to hold off the challenges by Jason Mahaffey to put his Wyandt and Silver backed racer in victory lane. Point leader Rodney Roush was third, with Jacob Heckman fourth and Richard Roush fifth. The dash was won by Rodney Roush, with Robert Roush and Rob Schaeff winning eight lap heat races. Sage also won the Hard Charger Award from DeGraff Service Center.

Piqua's Josh Sage was the winner of the street stock feature.

It was a familiar scene in the Buckeye FWD Mini Stocks, as DeGraff’s Justin Pope sweeping the class. Pope set fast time, won the dash and feature to pickup a $200.00 bonus. The race saw numerous spins and crashes before Pope took the checker flag in his L&B Auto Service Honda. Pope’s biggest challenge came from his brother Ethan. Ethan held onto second, with Corey Plunkett, Ryan Tamburro and Jimmy Huffman rounded out the top five. Plunkett and Levi Fraser were heat winners.

The beat goes on in the Hangar 18 Race Cars feature saw Jason Purtee of DeGraff keep his unbeaten streak alive as he dominated the division, setting fast time to go along with his feature win. Steve Fowler, Les Rhodes and Andy Pine chased Purtee to the checker. Purtee also won the Hangar 18/Xfactor Hard Chager Award.

Racing will return to the Bowl next Saturday Aug. 18 with the running of the Shawn Stansell Memorial for the street stocks. The Dave Nagel Excavating late models,Biggins Small Engine Repair Modifieds, Hangar 18 Hobby Stocks and the Buckeye FWD Mini Stocks will do battle. It will also be the first elimination round for the spectator drags. Racing will begin at 7.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 8/11/18

Jacob Muncy of Columbus won the Dave Nagel Excavating late model main.

Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models:

Fast qualifier:Josh Smith 13.651

Dash winner:Josh Smith

Heat Winners: Bill Cantley and Jacob Muncy

Feature 35 laps: 1. Jacob Muncy 2. Buddy Townsend 3. Josh Smith 4. Mike Ward 5. Kenny George 6. Mike Holland 7. Jim Lewis Jr. 8. Nic Burnside 9. Matt Jackson 10. Matt Parsons 11. Don Mahaffey Jr. 12. Chad Pendleton 13. Bill Cantley 14. Rodney Foster 15. Brian Reeser

16. Caleb Reschar 17. Craig Borland 18. Jim Hursey

Biggins Small Engine Repair Modifieds:

Fast qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.589

Dash winner: Logan McPherson

Heat winners: Rob Dutra and Buddy Townsend

Feature 30 laps: 1. Mike Carroll 2. Buddy Townsend 3. Logan McPherson 4. Jerry Stapleton 5. Kevin Doran 6. Sean MacNealy 7. Daniel McPherson 8. Scott Jones 9. Rob Dutra 10. Dylan Andrix 11. Rob Bryant 12. Doug Hewitt Jr. 13. Brian Brandyberry 14. Greg Stapleton 15. Mike Pippin 16. Mike Schaefer 17. Chris Parker

Street Stocks:

DeGraff's Justin Pope swept the Buckeye FWD Mini Stocks, setting fast time, winning the dash and the feature.

Fast qualifer: Josh Sage 14.452

Dash winner:Rodney Roush

Heat winners: Rob Schaeff and Robert Roush

Feature 25 laps: 1. Josh Sage 2. Jason Mahaffey 3. Rodney Roush 4. Jacob Heckman 5. Richard Roush 6. Robert Roush 7. Chad Small II

8. Chester Frazier 9. Rob Schaeff 10. Randy Walton 11. Tim Hines 12. Chandler Little 13. Jacob Muncy 14. Jason Drummond 15. John Hicks

Buckeye FWD Mini Stocks:

Fast qualifier: Justin Pope 16.445

Dash winner: Justin Pope

Heat winners: Corey Plunkett and Levi Fraser

Feature 25 laps: 1. Justin Pope 2. Ethan Pope 3. Corey Plunkett 4. Ryan Tamburro 5. Jimmy Huffman 6. Zach Doolin 7. Kevin McCoy 8. Justin Kemp 9. Andru Troyer 10. Curtis Noble 11. Andrea Swink 12. Tim Hines 13. Rob Fraley 14. Trent Bevington 15. Jerry Ellis Jr. 16. Mike Wintrow 17. Eddie Kemp 18. Alex Young 19. Josh Foltz 20. Levi Fraser

Hangar 18 Hobby Stocks:

Fast Qualifier: Jason Purtee 16.595

Feature 20 laps: 1. Jason Purtee 2. Steve Fowler 3. Les Rhodes 4. Andy Pine


Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page