top of page

Whitener wins the 23rd annual Powell Memorial, takes home $10K

It was a wild night at the "Worlds Fastest Half Mile" as the Late Models took center stage for the biggest event of the year in the 23rd Annual Powell Memorial. The pits were packed full of Late Models from Florida, Alabama and Georgia, just to name a few looking to claim the prestigious event.

When the green flag dropped it was John Kellum leading the field to green, but it was Devin Dixon using the high side momentum to grab the early lead in his Capital Race Cars #313 as Kellum would fall back to third with "The Magic Man" Mark Whitener following Dixon to the runner up spot. Whitener, who won three Powell checks in a row before Fitzgerald knocked him off last year, looked like a man on a mission on Saturday night as he would take the race lead on lap 10 and never look back in his Barry Wright Race Cars ICON #5. John Kellum would battle back to finish runner up followed by Joe Kump, Kyle VanSickle, and Will Herrington.

Volusia Speedpark-A proud partner with the Contingency Connection Racer Rewards

Official Rundown from 6-9-18

23rd Annual Powell Memorial Presented by Bozard Ford | 67 Laps | $10,000 to Win! (45 Cars)

Overall Fast Qualifier: Mark Whitener

Heat 1: Kenny Monahan, Tyler Thomason, Stanton Mills, John Baker, Shane Williams, David Clegg, Jimmy Waldrop, John Bledsoe

Heat 2: Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Joe Kump, Shan Smith, Brandon Catto, David Whitener, Clay Harris, Michale Whipple, Mark Steube

Heat 3: Keith Nosbish, Howard Stalls, Jimmy Sharp Jr., Brandon Cameron, Donnie Padgett, Holt Pipkin, Megan Rae, Meyer, Justin Merry

Heat 4: Travis Pennington, Kyle VanSickle, Jeff Mathews, Tyler Crowder, Bo Allen, Keremy Faircloth, Kenneth Hall, Donald MacIntosh

Heat 5: Will Harrington, Nevin Gainey, Rhett Carter, Chad Tuten, Trever McKinley, Win Ingersol, Kyle Chappell, Derike Bennett

B-Main #1: Baker, Cameron, Whitener, Merry, Pipkin, Whipple, Hall

B-Main #2: Crowder, Faircloth, Catto, Harris, Williams, Padgett, Rae, MKinley, Waldrop, Tuten

Non-Qualifiers Race: Williams, D. Whitener, Merry, Rae

Feature: Whitener, Kellum, Kump, VanSickle, Harrington, Sharp Jr., Nosbisch, Mills, Faircloth, Dixon, I. Lloyd, G. Lloyd, Mathews, Baker, Stalls, Whipple, Fitzgerald, Smith, Gainey, Crowder, Carter, Monahan, Pennington, Cameron, Thomason

Mercedes Benz Vans Born to Run Street Stocks (19)

Heat 1: Landon Lungren, Brandon Elwood, Kenny McBride, Tuck Trentham, Kameron McGauley, Dave Hildebrant, Don Strosahl, Bubba Christian, Jessee Brown, Mike Stalnaker

Heat 2: Tim Powers, Joe Belkey, Marco Reyes, Barry Sheffield, Jonathon Croson, Clayton Ruth, Joey Parks, Rick Elwood, Grand Dillon

Feature: Belkey, Lungren, Powers, Trentham, Croson, Stalnaker, McBride, Reyes, B. Elwood, Sheffield, R. Elwood, Parks, Dillon, Hildebrant, McGauley, Ruth, Brown, Strosahl, Christian

Billy Ballew Motorsports Thunderstocks (25 Cars)

Heat 1: Ron Adams, Bubba Christian, Donnie Birdwell, Robert Hicks, Jonathon Thomas, Hank Baker, Dustin Turnage Sr.

Heat 2: Dustin Turnage Jr., Robbie Hager, Kevin Durden, David Showers Sr., Arthur Conquest, Curt Spencer, Dale Kump

Heat 3: David Showers Jr., Jamie Carter, Ron McCreary, RJ Glaser, James Parrish, Justin Dean, John Canary, Joe Belkey, Curtis Spencer

Feature: Showers Jr., Durden, Showers Sr., Christian, McCreary, Hager, Kump, Birdwell, Carter, Hicks, Conquest, Taylor, Glaser, Canary, Turnage Jr., Adams, Spencer, Thomas, Parrish, Spencer, Dean

Triple D Equipment Gladiators (11)

Heat 1: Johnnie Yeomans, Steve Quick, Stephen Kramer, Henry Lanier, Jason Tovet, Steven Chamberlin, Todd Latour, #83, Jason Gentry, Erik Mantz, Dwayne Yeomans

Feature: D. Yeomans, J. Lanier, Latour, H. Lanier, Kramer, Mantz, Quick, Tovet, J. Yeomans, Higdon, Chamberlin (DNS), Gentry (DNS)


Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page