top of page

Shady Bowl Speedway Results from 9/30/2017!


9892 Flowing Well Rd. DeGraff OH 43318

Worlds Fastest Three Tenths Mile Paved Oval

Photo Credit: Issac's Photos

Shady Bowl Speedway Closes 2017 Season

DeGraff OH (9/30). Shady Bowl Speedway completed its 2017 season with a full night of racing Saturday.

The modifieds ran a 40 lap feature with the winner taking home $1000.00. Mike Pippin took the lead at the drop of the green. Scott Drake of Xenia, motored by on lap two. Scott then broke away from the pack and scored his second win of the season in his Roger Winget Race Cars open wheeler. Brad Yelton, Daniel McPherson, Logan McPherson and Pippin rounded out the top five. Yelton was the dash winner, with heats going to Logan McPherson and Shawn Jones. Buddy Townsend was the fast qualifier. Drake finished off his big night by winning the

DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award.

The street stocks had a new look, as it was “Run What Ya Brung Night”. The drivers had added sprint car wings and plexiglass side boards to make the cars more aerodynamic . Hoosier veteran driver Chuck Barnes Jr. set a new track record with a 13.219 lap beating the mark set last year by Rob Schaeff. Jim Lewis Jr. of Fairborn took the lead on lap three. NTR record holder Barnes worked his way thru the field and soon got by Lewis on lap eight. Barnes put it in cruise control as he sliced and diced his way thru lapped taffic. Trouble loomed ahead for the former CRA champion as mechanical woes put him in the pits on lap fourteen. On the restart Lewis then took the lead back. Lewis, in his Victory Machine Camaro held the lead the final counters. The win was the fourth of the season for Lewis. 2017 track champion Rodney Roush was second, with Randy Walton, Schaeff and Steve Hursey rounded out the top five.

The Bonanza compacts were also on the schedule. Piqua’s Mike Wintrow spent the week repairing his car after a hard crash last week (9/23). The Line-X backed front wheel drive racer was fixed to perfection as Wintrow took the lead near the halfway point and went on to score his first feature win. Jordon Sage was second, with Justin Pope third, fast qualifier Jimmy Devuono was fourth and Corey Plunkett fifth. Wintrow won the dash, with Pope and Robbie Coppock winning the heat races.

The Super Compact feature went to Terry Eaton Jr. of Quincy. Eaton took the lead from Brooks Horseman in lap seven and never looked back in his L&B Auto Honda. Justin Pope, Horseman, Nick Barrett and Eddie Kemp followed.

Jason Purtee of DeGraff piloted his Ford bodied Fat Boys Pizza to his sixth win of the season in the pure stocks.2017 track champion Zach Doolin was second, with Jimmy McElfresh third and Don Pyles fourth.

The event was the last race of the 2017 season. The staff and management would like to thank the fans, drivers, car owners and pit crews for supporting the track this summer. A big thanks also goes out to the members of the media. Fans can keep up with off season news by watching the Facebook web page and the Shady Bowl Rocks site.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 9/30/17



Fast Qualifier: Buddy Townsend 13.577

Dash Winner: Brad Yelton

Heat Winners: Logan McPherson and Shawn Jones

Feature: 1. Scott Drake 2. Brad Yelton 3. Daniel McPherson 4. Logan McPherson 5. Mike Pippin 6. Buddy Townsend 7. Shawn McNeely 8. Gregg Jackson 9. Josh Sage 10. Cass Kemp 11. Scott Jones 12. Doug Hewitt Jr. 13. Andy Bohn 14. Mike Schaeffer


Fast Qualifier: Jimmy Devuono 16.682

Dash Winner: Mike Wintrow

Heat Winner: Justin Pope and Robbie Coppock

Feature: 1. Mike Wintrow 2. Tyler Sage 3. Justin Pope 4. Jimmy Devuono 5. Corey Plunkett 6. Nick Barrett 7. Jim Sourmail 8. Caleb Ellison 9. Justin Durflinger 10. Tanner Lane 11. Andrea Swink 12. Eddie Kemp 13. Robbie Coppock 14. Damion Killen 15. Dylan Troyer 16. Andru Troyer 17. Nicholas Philbeck

Street Stocks:

Fast Qualifier: Chuck Barnes Jr. 13.219 NTR

Feature: 1. Jim Lewis Jr. 2. Rodney Roush 3. Randy Walton 4. Rob Schaeff 5. Steve Hursey 6. Ralph Vinson 7. Chuck Barnes Jr.

Super Compacts:

Terry Eaton Jr. 15.446

Feature: 1. Terry Eaton Jr. 2. Justin Pope 3. Brooks Horseman 4. Nick Barrett 5. Eddie Kemp

Pure Stocks:

Fast Qualifier: Jason Purtee 16.259

Feature: 1. Jason Purtee 2. Zach Doolin 3. Jimmy McElfresh 4. Don Pyles

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page