top of page

Summit Bracket Racing Series Presented by COMP Cams - Track Championship Determined

MILLINGTON, Tenn. - The 2017 Summit Bracket Racing Series, presented by COMP Cams, had its final race of the season Saturday, Sept. 23 at Memphis International Raceway. Every round of racing turned out to be very important with the No Box championship literally coming down to just one point. The MIR season champions are listed below:

Buddy Ferrell led the points going into the final race of the season and he ended winning the championship by a margin of 51 points over runner-up Michael Hall. Hall won Saturday night's race, but it wasn't enough to overcome Ferrell, who had four victories on the season during his run to the championship.

Greg Rushing won the championship by just a single point after Kyle Rumley held a 19-point lead heading into the final race. With a two-race makeup schedule and one only counting towards the championship, an early-round loss and a buy-back ended up being determining factors.

In addition to their own battle, Rumley and Rushing had to keep their eyes on Troy Poindexter, who was not out of the chase. Rumley didn't improve on his June 17 race result and an early-round buy-back ended up giving the title to Rushing, who improved his event points by 20. Poindexter won the race and finished just 10 points behind Rushing in the final standings.

Foster held on for an 18-point win over Tommy Jackson, who gave his best shot by winning every round in the makeup races, of which only one counted. However, Foster entered the night with a 29-point lead and he had a strong enough finish in the first makeup race to hold on for the title. Foster was a two-time winner in the RT Turbines DOT/Street class on his way to the championship.

It was a similar situation in Junior Dragster where 30 points separated class leader Devan Lowe from second-place Devin Johnson. Johnson did all he could by winning his class-high third win of the season. But, two-time race winner Lowe was consistent throughout the season ended up with the championship

Ferrell, Rushing and Lowe will all represent Memphis International Raceway in the 2017 IHRA Summit World Finals to be held at the Millington, Tenn., dragway on October 21-22.

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page