Shady Bowl Speedway - Results from 9/23!


9892 Flowing Well Rd. DeGraff OH 43318

Worlds Fastest Three Tenths Mile Paved Oval

Klingelhofer Modified Winner at Shady Bowl

DeGraff OH: The temperature was hot and so was the racing action at Shady Bowl Speedway (9/23). The modifeds headlined the action with a 40 lap feature paying $1000.00 to win. Scott Drake of Xenia jumped out front early in the event to lead the first 20 laps. Gregg Jackson then took over point . Jackson was soon joined by Ross Klingelhofer and fast qualifier Logan McPherson. The trio hooked up in a three car breakaway that saw the running order change nearly every lap. When the white flag flew it was Jackson out front. Coming to the checker it was a drag race with Quincy’s Klingelhofer just edging out Jackson. Jackson was second, with Logan McPherson third, Shawn McNeely fourth and Buddy Townsend fifth. Daniel McPherson took the heat checker, with Jackson posting the dash win. Klingelhofer also won the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award.

Don Mahaffey Jr of Dayton powered his Hanger 18 Race Cars late model to the feature win for the sixth time in 2017. Mahaffey over powered Buddy Townsend on lap 26 to lead the rest of the way. Townsend held on for second, with Jim Lewis Jr a strong third. Harrison Hall and Brian Reeser rounded out the top five.

The 30 lap compact race was a true test of survival as the pace was slowed by a rash of spins and crashes. Corey Plunkett led the first lap, before Josh Sage took over. Sage led thru lap 8 before giving way to Mike Wintrow. Wintrow paced the field until lap 12 laps before Lakeview driver Eddie Kemp took the lead. Kemp powered his Kirby Auto Parts backed racer to his first feature win. Justin Pope, Bill Ramey, Damien Killen and Jim Sourmail finished second thru fifth. Fast qualifier Wintrow was the dash win, with Killen and Ramey winning heat races.

Jason Purtee arrived in time to run the feature for the pure stocks and dominated the 20 lapper in his Fat Boys Pizza Ford. It was the fourth win of the season for Purtee. Kenny George Jr, Don Pyles, Dean Schaeffer and Jim McElfresh rounded out the top five.

The spectator drag race was won by Zack Thornhill over Rob Taylor.

This Saturday (9/30) will be the final event of the season. The modifieds will run a 40 lap $1000.00 to win feature. The street stocks will run 50 laps in a “Run what ya brung” feature. The pure stocks, compacts,super compacts and spectator drags will round out the schedule of events.

Shady Bow Speedway Summary 9/23/17


Fast qualifier Logan McPherson 13.754

Dash winner: Gregg Jackson

Heat winner: Daniel McPherson

Feature 40 laps: 1. Ross Klingelhofer 2. Gregg Jackson 3. Logan McPherson 4. Shawn McNeely 5. Buddy Townsend 6. Daniel McPherson 7. Scott Drake 8. Cass Kemp 9. Mike Pippin 10. Dylan Andrix 11. Mike Schaffer 12. Andy Bohn

Late Models:

Fast qualifier: Harrison Hall 13.286

Feature 35 laps: 1. Don Mahaffey Jr. 2. Buddy Townsend 3. Jim Lewis Jr. 4. Harrison Hall 5. Brian Reeser 6. Russ Bobb 7. Jesse Gade 8. Vaughn Young 9. Bill Cantley


Fast qualifier: Mike Wintrow 16.738

Dash winner: Mike Wintrow

Heat winners: Bill Ramey and Damion Killen

Feature 30 laps: 1. Eddie Kemp 2. Justin Pope 3. Bill Ramey 4. Damion Killen 5. Jim Sourmail 6. Tanner Lane 7. Justin Durflinger 8. Rob Fraley 9. Kyle Gordon 10. Corey Plunkett 11. Josh Sage 12. Mike Wintrow 13. Andrea Swink 14. Tyler Sage

Pure Stocks:

Fast qulaifer: Kenny George Jr. 16.940

Feature 20 laps: 1. Jason Purtee 2. Kenny George Jr 3. Don Pyles 4. Dean Schaeffer 5. Jim McElfresh

Related posts
Recent Posts