top of page

Pictures & Updates from Shady Bowl Speedway - August 5, 2017!!


9892 Flowing Well Rd. DeGraff OH 43318

Worlds Fastest Three Tenths Mile Paved Oval

DeGraff OH (8/5): Shady Bowl Speedway fans were treated to a night of racingSaturday that featured some of the closest racing of the season. The track also paid tribute to Sidney OH resident ‘ Waco”

Wayne Watercutter. Watercutter and his wife Gloria were both in attendance. Wayne had success nearly everywhere he raced. He ventured out to the ARCA and NASCAR series and raced across the country. Wayne hung up his helmet five years ago and now helps younger drivers get started.

The 40 lap ‘Waco” Wayne Watercutter tribute race was the first event of the evening. Columbus driver Buddy Townsend paced the field the first four laps before giving way to Don Mahaffey Jr. of Dayton. Mahaffey continued his torrid pace started earlier in evening as he was fast qualifier. The former track champion went on to claim the win for the fourth time this season. Buddy Townsend was second, with Rich Gleason, Brian Fries and Jesse Gade. Mahaffey also powered his Quick Parts sponsored stocker to the Amsoil Hard Charger Award.

The 30 lap modified main turned out to be one of the best of the season. Three time feature winner Brad Yelton paced the field the first sixteen laps, looking like win number four was just ahead. Mike Carroll, Scott Drake, Shane Shirk and fast qualifier Greg Stapleton were in a real battle to see who was first to get to the front to challenge Yelton.

Fast qualifier Greg Stapleton and Shirk had a spirited race going before Stapleton took over the spot. After taking the lead Stapleton left the field behind in his Stapleton Tool and Machine backed ride. Once the Troy driver cleared the pack it was all his to win or loose. Carroll, Yelton, Drake and Shirk rounded out the top five. The win was the second of the season for Stapleton as he also won the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award. Drake won the dash with Carl Stapleton and Chris Parker taking heat checkers.

The 25 lap street stock feature was a crowd pleaser all the way. Jim Lewis Jr., Jacob Muncy and fast qualifier Josh Sage had the fans on their feet as the trio battled for the lead. Sage and Lewis battled side by side for nearly all 25 laps with Muncy just behind and looking for running room. When the dust had settled Piqua’s Sage was smiling for photos in victory lane. Muncy was able to pass Lewis to claim second spot with Lewis third. Alizza Snapp turned in a strong effort to finish fourth, with Chad Small II fifth. It was a clean sweep for Sage in his Wyant and Silver sponsored Chevy, as he also won the dash and the Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger Award.

The 20 lap compact feature saw Jimmy McElfresh jump out front at the drop of the green flag. McElfresh led until lap nine, when Medway’s Josh Foltz sped by. Foltz went on to post win #8 in Vapor Royals Neon. McElfresh was able to finish second, Mike Wintrow, Dusty Harding, and Damien Killen rounded out the top five. Foltz also racked up the dash win and the Quick Parts Hard Charger Award. Wintrow was the heat winner.

The 10 lap pure stock feature saw three cars coming to the checker, but only one crossed the finish line. John Eastman looked to have the feature locked as he led the first nine laps. Coming to the checker, Eastman spun taking fast qualifier Ryan Tamburro with him. Zach Doolin was the only car that crossed the finish line. The New Carlisle

driver picked up his eighth win in his Wholesale Auto Parts Cutlass.

Tamburro was second with Eastman third.

The spectator drags was won by Chad Owens over Corey Plunkett.

Next Saturday night (8-12) will be the Bill “Pappy” Lewis Memorial race. It will be a 50 lap Modified feature with $1,500.00 to win. Late Models, Pure Stocks, Compacts and Spectator Drags will also be on hand. It will also be KIDS NIGHT with Big Wheel races, Penny Scramble and Free Book Bags (while supplies last). If you want to donate items or cash for the book bags stop by the speedway or bring to the tower. Racing will begin at 7 .

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 8/5/17

Late Models:

Fast Qualifier: Don Mahaffey Jr 12.886

Amsoil Hard Charger Award: Don Mahaffey Jr

Feature Wayne “Waco” Watercutter Tribute 40 laps: 1. Don Mahaffey Jr. 2. Buddy Townsend 3. Rich Gleason 4. Brian Fries 5. Jesse Gade 6. Larry Kemp 7. Josh Smith


Fast Qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.483

Dash winner: Scott Drake

Heat winners: Chris Parker and Carl Stapleton

DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award: Greg Stapleton

Feature 30 laps: 1. Greg Stapleton 2. Mike Carroll 3. Brad Yelton 4. Scott Drake 5. Shane Shirk 6. Logan McPherson 7. Daniel McPherson 8. Jerry Stapleton 9. Chris Parker 10. Buddy Townsend 11. Steve Snapp 12. Herb Newman 13. Chris Prater 14. Carl Stapleton 15. Doug Hewitt Jr. 16. Mike Schaffer

Street Stocks:

Fast qualifier: Josh Sage 14.469

Dash winner: Josh Sage

Heat winner: Mike Snapp

Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger Award: Josh Sage

Feature 25 laps: 1. Josh Sage 2. Jacob Muncy 3. Jim Lewis Jr. 4. Aliza Snapp 5. Chad Small II 6. Chester Frazier 7. Robert Roush 8. John Hicks 9. Jacob Heckman 10. Dillon Snapp 11. Lane Crabtree 12. Mike Snapp


Dash Winner: Josh Foltz

Heat Winner: Mike Wintrow

Quick Parts Hard Charger Award: Josh Foltz

Feature 20 laps: 1. Josh Foltz 2. Jimmy McElfresh 3. Mike Wintrow 4. Dusty Harding 5. Damien Killen 6. Ryan Tamburro 7. Buck Purtee 8. Corey Kyer 9. Jim Sourmail 10. Andrea Swink 11. Cody Wynn 12. Jason Grove

Pure Stocks:

Fast qualifier: Ryan Tamburro 16.643

Feature 10 laps: 1. Zach Doolin 2.Ryan Tamburro 3. John Eastman

Spectator Drags: 1. Chad Owens 2. Corey Plunkett

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page