top of page

Shady Bowl Speedway Results!!! 7/29/17


9892 Flowing Well Rd. DeGraff OH 43318

Worlds Fastest Three Tenths Mile Paved Oval

Attached Photos from Shady Bowl Speedway 7/29. #1 Josh Sage of Piqua won his third street stock feature at the Bowl #2 Bud Perry of Edgerton OH subbed for Urbana Mike Ward and won the Blackford 55 #3 Rob Bryant won his first pure stock feature #4. Brad Yelton of Urbana won his third modified feature #5 Bo Hoelsher of Riverside the VORES Compact feature


DeGraff OH: (7/29): Shady Bowl Speedway saw some of the best racing of the season Saturday. The pit area and grandstands were both crowded as fans and drivers took advantage of a race night with no rain. The program was dedicated to the mempry of Buster and Bussie Blackford of Dayton. The father son team dominated local racing over forty years. Buster drove his familiar #55 until the mid 80’s when his son Bussie took over the ride. Bussie passed away in 2006 as a result of a highway crash, Buster passed away in 2007 after battling health issues. The 55 lap feature saw Bud Perry of Edgerton OH take the lead on lap 6. Perry had smooth sailing in the early stages of the race while fast qualifier Josh Smith threaded his way thru traffic. Smith ran down Perry and the duo had the fans on their feet as they battled for the win. Perry was subbing for Mike Ward after Ward had health issues. Smith gave Perry the run of his life, but in the end just ran out of laps as Perry took the checker. Perry was sponsored by Fetz Plumbing. Don Mahaffey Jr. was third, with John Stroble fourth and Brad Coons fifth. Mahaffey took the dash honors with Jim Lewis Jr. and Jesse Gade winning heat races. Smith picked up the Amsoil Hard Charger award.

In modified action Brad Yelton led all 30 laps to take his third win of the season. Mike Carroll made the win anything but easy for Yelton, as he ran right on Yelton back bumper, but was unable to get by. Yelton was behind the wheel of the Logan Services/Redskin Motorsports car. Chris Parker, Jerry Stapleton and Logan McPherson rounded out the top five. Shane Shirk set fast time, but luck was not with him in the feature as he hit the wall after contact with another car. Carroll was the dash victor, with Logan McPherson and Rob Dutra notching heat wins. Carl Stapleton won the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger award.

The VORES COMPACT TOURING SERIES cars made their second stop of the season with a full field of cars on hand. Tom Gossar set the pace in the early stage of the 30 lap B.J. Body Shop feature. He was then passed by fast qualifier Bo Hoelsher of Riverside in his O’Reilly Auto Parts Honda. Hoelsher was clearly the class of the field as he was never challenged enroute to his win. Gary Eaton Jr., Terry Eaton Jr.,Justin Pope and Austin Eaton finished second thru fifth. The heat checkers were cliaimed by Terry Eaton Jr. , Zack Morris and B.J. Honious.

Buck Purtee led the first five laps of the street stock feature before giving way to Piqua’s Josh Sage. Sage soon had his hands full as fast qualifier and new track record holder Josh Smith was camped on his rear bumper. The two veteran drivers went at it for the final 15 laps before Sage put his Bob’s Auto stocker in victory lane for the third time this season. Smith was second, with Rob Schaeff , Jim Lewis Jr. and Josh Longstreth rounding out the top five. Schaeff was the dash winner, Purtee and Longstreth carried the checker in the heats. Longstreth also won the Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger award.

The pure stock feature saw DeGraff resident Rob Bryant take the lead at the drop of the green flag. Bryant went on to post his first win of the season in his Bryant Automotive Monte Carlo. Zach Doolin was second, John Eastman third and Ryan Tamburro fourth.

Corey Plunkett held off Bob Brown to win the spectator drag race. The win was his fourth of the season.

The track will host a program of late models, modifieds,street stocks, pure stocks, compacts and spectator drag cars on Saturday August 5th . The late models will be running the Waco Wayne 100. A 100 lap late model feature paying $1900.00 to win. Please note all classes will be points races EXCEPT street stocks. Racing will begin at 7. On Saturday night (8/12) it will be “Kids Night” at the races. Young fans will be able to take their big wheels on the track and race, There will also be a penny scramble on the front chute. It will also be “Book Bag” night. Youngsters will receive a free book bag stuffed with school supplies (while supplies last). A big thanks to Dwayne and Andrea Swank and Kermit Wilson for their donation. John and Cheryl Stroble of CS & SS LLC have really stepped up as they donated 70 book bags and a huge quanity of supplies. If you would like to donate book bags, supplies or cash (to purchase more bags and supplies), just stop by the tower.


Late Models:

Fast qualifier: Josh Smith 12.984

Dash winner: Don Mahaffey Jr.

Heat winners: Jim Lewis Jr. and Jesse Gade

Amsoil Hard Charger award: Josh Smith

“Blackford 55”: 1. Bud Perry 2. Josh Smith 3. Don Mahaffey 4. John Stroble 5. Brad Coons 6. Jesse Gade 7. Richard Gleason 8. Caleb Reschar 9. Tyler Parsons 10. Paul Hazelett 11. Matthew Parsons 12. Brandon Bayse 13. Tyler Mahaffey 14. Larry Kemp 15. Cody Robinson 16. Buddy Townsend


Fast qualifier: Shane Shirk 13.614

Dash winner: Mike Carroll

Heat winners: Logan McPherson and Rob Dutra

DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger award: Carl Stapleton

Feature 30 laps: 1. Brad Yelton 2. Mike Carroll 3. Chris Parker 4. Jerry Stapleton 5. Logan McPherson 6. Carl Stapleton 7. Daniel McPherson 8. Rob Dotra 9. Chris Prater 10. Herb Newman 11. Steve Snapp 12. Joe Pequignot 13. Shane Shirk 14. Mike Schaffer 15. Brian Brandyberry

VORES Compacts:

Fast qualifier: Bo Hoelscher 15.113

Heat Winners: Zack Morris, Terry Eaton Jr and B. J. Honious

Feature 30 laps: 1. Bo Hoelscher 2. Gary Eaton Jr. 3. Terry Eaton Jr. 4.Justin Pope 5. Austin Eaton 6. David Yoder 7. Steve Vore 8. Ethan Pope 9. B. J. Honious 10. Josh Foltz 11. Harvey Yoder 12. Dave Mehl 13. David Gilliland

14. Nicholas Meade 15. Aaron Teagarden 16. Mark Jennings 17. Justin Kemp 18. B. Smith 19. Bill Honious 20. Bob Rehm 21. Ron Masters 22. Zac Morris 23. Justin Brown 24 Tom Gossar 25. Levi Hill

Street Stocks:

Fast qualifier: Josh Smith 14.404 NTR

Dash winner Rob Schaeff

Heat winners: Buck Purtee and Josh Longstreth

Ohlinger Hard Charger Award: Josh Longstreth

Feature 25 laps: 1. Josh Sage 2. Josh Smith 3. Rob Schaeff 4. Jim Lewis Jr. 5. Josh Longstreth 6. John Hicks 7. Aliza Snapp 8. Ryan Burch 9. Robert Roush 10. Jason Parsons 11. Richard Roush 12. Chad Small II 13. Chester Frazier 14. Rodney Roush 15. Buck Purtee 16. Mike Snapp

Pure Stocks:

Feature: 1. Rob Bryant 2. Zach Doolin 3. John Eastman 4. Ryan Tamburro

Spectator drag race: 1. Corey Plunkett 2. Bob Brown

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page