top of page

Carroll Tops Modifieds at Shady Bowl - 7/8/17 RESULTS

DeGraff OH (7/8): Shady Bowl Speedway honored the memory of the founders of Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday night. The Speedwaydedicated the nights action to the Scherer family. The Scherer’s built the current speedway in the early 50’s after first building a tiny dirt oval that hosted stock cars and the roaring roadsters. It was also “Rick Hensel Night” as the Shady Bowl staff hosted

a 30 lap pure stock feature to honor the longtime employee. Hensel did just about every job at the track. He served as a flagman, pit steward, grounds keeper and all around maintenance man. Rick passed away two years ago.

The modified feature saw nineteen cars take the green flag for the 30 lap feature. Mike Carroll of Kettering led the field into turn one from his inside front row starting spot. Carroll put his KEG Racecars out front as the field fought for position behind him. The pace was slowed by several spins and crashes before settling down and racing hard. Fast qualifier Greg Stapleton was putting on a driving clinic on passing on the tiny three tenths mile oval after being sent to the rear of the field after a skirmish with another car. Carroll had smooth sailing out front until ten laps to go when Stapleton finally ran him down. The stage was set for another epic race by the two veteran drivers. The final laps had the fans standing and cheering for their favorite driver. Carroll was able to hold off every challenge Stapleton tried. In post race interviews both drivers spoke of the trust they share for each other as they ran side by side and bumper to bumper and never made contact. In victory lane Carroll dedicated the win to crew member John “Peewee” Goins and Katrina Goins who both recently passed away. Logan McPherson ran a great race to finish third, with Ross Klinglehoffer fourth and Shane Shirk fifth. The dash was won by Brian Brandyberry with Daniel McPherson and Mike Schaeffer taking heat wins. The Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger Award went to Daniel McPherson.

The Coyote Truck series made its first ever appearance with eight trucks on hand. Marysville driver Shawn Szep pulled off a clean sweep, as he set fast time and won the 50 lap feature. Szep, powered his Pro Signs Designs backed truck around early leader Jeremy Wiggins on lap thirteen. Szep went on to claim the win and kept his hot streak going. The 2016 champ has won three of four races this year. Wiggens, Brian Taylor, Josh Cahill and Stan Maitlen rounded out the top five.

Jim Lewis Jr. of Fairborn OH led every lap of the street stock feature to put his family owned Camaro in victory lane. The win was the second of the season for Lewis in his Performance Paint sponsored stocker. Josh Sage of Piqua was all over Lewis but was unable to overtake him, stopping Sage’s two race win streak. Rodney Roush was third, after being sent to the rear of the field for a crash. Josh Longstreth was fourth, with dash winner Chad Small II fifth. The race was red flagged near the halfway point when Nic Burnside hit the frontchute wall hard. Burnside was uninjured but the car suffered heavy damage. Rob Schaeff was the heat winner.

The 30 lap “Rick Hensel 30” for the pure stocks took to the oval next. Lane Crabtree led lap one before giving way to John Eastman.

Eastman led thru lap eight when Zack Brandyberry took over the lead. Brandyberry led until New Carlisle’s Zack Doolin put his Wholesale Auto Parts Cutlass out front. Doolin went on to his seventh feature win of the season. Brandyberry held on for second, with Ryan Tamburro third, Eastman fourth and fast qualifier Jason Purtee fifth.

The 20 lap compact main saw Medway’s Josh Foltz pass Mike Wintrow on lap eight and went on to claim his sixth feature win of the season in his Vapor Royals backed Neon. Jimmy McElfresh was second, followed by Wintrow, Ryan Tamburro and Cody Wynn. McElfresh won the dash with T.J. Gregory taking the heat checker.

The spectator drag race was won by Bob Brown over Chad Owens.

Next Saturday the Bowl will honor the memory of car builder Denny Shatto. Shatto always had great cars driven by some the top drivers in the Midwest. Don Gregory Sr. and Don Gregory Jr.strapped into his cars as well as Wayne Watercutter. The list of drivers is long who piloted his stockers. The late models will run twin 55 lap features with each paying $1000.00 to win. There is a $1000.00 bonus if a driver wins both 55 lappers. The street stocks, compacts, super compact series and spectator drag cars will round out the program.

Racing will start at 7.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 7/8/17


Fast qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.555

DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award: Daniel McPherson

Dash Winner: Brian Brandyberry

Heat Winners: Daniel McPherson and Mike Schaffer

Feature 30 laps: 1. Mike Carroll 2. Greg Stapleton 3. LoganMcPherson 4. Ross Klingelhoffer 5. Shane Shirk 6. Jerry Stapleton 7. Brian Brandyberry 8. Daniel McPherson 9. Chris Parker 10. Herb Newman 11. Rob Dutra 12. Brad Yelton 13. Scott Drake 14. Mike Schaffer 15. Jason Burnside 16. Don Skaggs 17. Carl Stapleton 18. Rob Yelton 19. Andy Bohn

Coyote Truck Series:

Fast qualifier: Shawn Szep 13.642

Feature 50 laps: 1. Shawn Szep 2. Jeremy Wiggins 3. Brian Taylor 4. Josh Cahill 5. Stan Maitlen 6. B J Willerman 7. Nick Nunamaker 8. Josh Plummer

Street Stocks: Fast Qualifier: Josh Sage 14.617

Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger Award: Robert Roush

Dash winner: Chad Small II

Heat winner: Rob Schaeff

Feature 25 laps: 1. Jim Lewis Jr. 2. Josh Sage 3. Rodney Roush 4. Josh Longstreth 5. Chad Small II 6. Dillon Snapp 7. Jason Parsons 8. Richard Roush 9. Robert Roush 10. Carl Stapleton 11. Rob Schaeff 12. Nic Burnside 13. ChesterFrazier

Pure Stocks:

30 lap Rick Hensel Memorial: 1. Zack Doolin 2. Zack Brandyberry 3. Ryan Tamburro 4. John Eastman 5. Jason Purtee 6. Lane Crabtree


Dash Winner: Jimmy McElfresh

Heat winner : T.J. Gregory

Quick Parts Hard Charger Award: Josh Foltz

20 lap feature: 1. Josh Foltz 2. Jim McElfresh 3. Mike Wintrow 4. Ryan Tamburro 5. Cody Wynn 6. T.J. Gregory 7. Damien Killen 8. Cory Cryer 9. Dillon Higginbotham 10.Jim Sourmail 11. Mike York 12. Rob Fraley 13. Jeff Ellis

Spectator Drag Race:

1. Bob Brown 2. Chad Owens

Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page