top of page

Joshua Sexton Posts First win at Shady Bowl Speedway

DeGraff OH 8/21): A full field of cars and a packed stands made for a a thrilling night of racing at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday night. The MUST SEE SPRINTS, one of the fastest traveling series ever, made their second stop of the season on Saturday bringing their ground pounding excitement with them. The 40-lap feature saw Elyria OH driver Joshua Sexton take the lead at the drop of the green. Sexton, behind the wheel of his Rally Sport Classic of Canton never looked back, as he led all the way to post his first ever MUST SEE win. Local favorite and fast qualifier (12.013) Charlie Schultz was second, followed by Joey Wyckoff, Cody Gallogly

and JJ Henes. Tim Henthorne and Joey Wyckoff captured heat checkers. The first heat was red flagged when Dylan Watson bumped wheels with another car. Watson got above the wall taking out the traffic light. Watson was uninjured in the melee.

The Dave Nagel Excavating late models took to the asphalt next for their 40 lap main. Former track champion Bud Perry, led the first two counters, before Josh Smith, also a former track champ took over on lap three. It became the Josh and Bud show, as the fans cheered for their favorite. Smith held the lead until lap 26 when Perry motored by for the last time. Perry, of Edgerton OH went on to post his first win of the season in his Meyers Garage sponsored, Rick Eilerman owned Chevy. Smith was second, with Josh Sage third, Matt Parsons fourth and fast qualifier (13.796) Don Mahaffey Jr. fifth. Parsons was the dash winner, with Smith toting the heat checker.

The Adams Automotive Street Stocks were next out of the chute. Sixteen cars took the green to start the 50 lap Shoot Out, with Corey Plunkett leading the way. Plunkett’s time out front was short lived, as he was black flagged for running under his qualifying time, forcing him to restart at the rear of the field. Defending track champion Rodney Roush then put his Chevelle out front. Chris Parker slowly reeled in Roush and the duo went at it before Parker put his Chad’s Automotive Chevelle out front. Parker, of Bellefontaine OH went on to win his first street stock feature of 2021. Roush was second, with fast qualifier (14.774) Josh Sage third, Matt Parsons fourth and Don Mahaffey Jr fifth. The dash was won by Parker, with heat wins going to Plunkett and Dylan Hoppes.

A great field of Noble Armor Coating Crown Vics signed in to run a 40-lap $600 to win feature. John Zornes took the lead at the drop of the green flag by starter Charlie Gifford. Zornes, having the best night of his career led the first eight laps, before Zach Brandyberry took over for two laps. Fast qualifier (17.117) Tyler Brandyberry then took over the point on lap eleven. Brandyberry was making out the deposit ticket for the $600 when trouble struck. On lap thirty-eight with only a lap and a half to go he spun coming off turn two. The spin brought out the yellow, and he had to restart at the rear of the field. Sam Marquis of Springhills took the lead on the restart and led the rest of the way for his second win of the season in his Marquis Pump Repair sponsored Crown Vic. Jimmy McElfresh, Zack Beaty-Lakins, John Zornes and Gaven Wilcoxon rounded out the top five.

McElfresh was the dash winner, with Zornes and Parsons winning heat races.

The Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts closed out the nights action. A total of thirty-six cars qualified, making for a crowded pit area and tight racing. David Archer led the first seven circuits before trading the lead with Jeremy Niswonger for eight laps. Dash winner Mike Wintrow of Piqua took over the lead on lap 15 in his Bumper Jack sponsored Cavalier and went on to post his fifth win of the season. Alec Young, Bobby Terry, Ethan Pope and Jimmy McElfresh filled out the top five. Chase Lang and Ben Cartright won last chance races. Corey Plunkett won the “B” main.

Coming this Saturday ( 8/28) , will be the 3rd leg of the Ohio 300 Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models. It will also be the Bobby Jacks Memorial race. The Wooten Automotive and Towing Modifieds, The Adams Automotive Steve Brandyberry Memorial street stock race. The “Wet and Wild” 75 lap Enduro. It will also be Shady Bowl Speedway Hall of Fame Night, with the first ever inductees going into the HOF. Racing set to start at 7.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 8/21/21


Fast Qualifier: Charlie Shultz 12.013

Heat winners: Tim Henthorne and Joey Wyckoff

Feature 40 laps: 1. Joshua Sexton 2. Charlie Schultz 3. Joey Wyckoff 4. Cody Gallogly 5. JJ Henes 6. Jason Rader 7. Dale McQuillen 8. Tim Henthorne 9. Junior Gould

Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models:

Fast Qualifier: Don Mahaffey Jr. 13.796

Dash Winner: Matt Parsons

Heat Winner: Josh Smith

Feature 35 laps: 1. Bud Perry 2. Josh Smith 3. Josh Sage 4. Matt Parsons 5. Don Mahaffey Jr. 6. Jim Lewis Jr 7. Jamie Sites 8. Ryan Fleming 9. Shawn Szep 10. Brian Brewer 11. Dearl Parsons 12. Scott Lozan 13. Bill Cantley 14. John Kirk

Adams Automotive Street Stocks:

Fast Qualifier: Josh Sage 14.774

Dash Winner: Chris Parker

Heat Winners: Corey Plunkett and Dylan Hoppes

Feature 50 Laps: 1. Chris Parker 2. Rodney Roush 3. Josh Sage 4. Austin Eaton 5, Chad Small II 6. Rob Schaeff 7. Jacob Heckman 8. Dylan Hoppes 9. Richard Roush 10. Nick Frazier 11. Don Mahaffey Jr. 12. Bill Endsley 13. Jason Mahaffey 14. Phil Gussler Jr. 15. Corey Plunkett 16. Brad Blue


Fast Quaifier: Tyler BrandyBerry 17.117

Dash Winner: Jimmy McElfresh

Heat Winners: John Zornes and Bobby Jo Parsons

Feature 40 laps: 1. Sam Marquis 2. Jimmy McElfresh 3. Zach Beaty-Lakins 4. John Zornes 5. Gaven Wilcoxon 6. Tyler Brandyberry 7. Brooke Wilcoxon 8. Dalton Oder 9. Zach Brandyberry 10. Dalton Griffin 11. Alex Zerkle 12. Taylor Conley 13. Bobby Jo Parsons 14. Craig Boling Jr. 15. Tim Spriggs 16. Chris Prater 17. Rob Bryant


Fast Qualifier: Jimmy McElfresh 16.904

Dash Winner: Mike Wintrow

Last Chance Race Winners: Chase Lang and Ben Cartwright

“B” Main Winner: Corey Plunkett

“A’ Main 25 laps: 1. Mike Wintrow 2. Alec Young 3. Bobby Terry 4. Ethan Pope 5. Jimmy McElfresh 6. Larry Adams 7. Michael Litchfield 8. Dustin Hughes 9. Aaron Jewell 10. Charlie Hoepker 11. Scott Henson 12. Garrett Spriggs 13. Tylan Coppock 14. Daytona Hensley 15. Jake Kohler 16. Chase Lang 17. Ben Cartwright 18. Jeremy Niswonger 19. David Asher 20. Keven Baggett 21. Bill Ramey 22. Daylan Karnes 23. Jason Parsons 24. Casey Wynn

Joshua Sexton of Elyria OH won the Must See Sprints main event..

Mike Wintrow of Piqua OH won his fifth Harrod Septic Solutions Compact feature.

Bellefontaine OH driver Chris Parker carried the checker for the Adams Automotive 50 lap Steet Stock Shoot Out.

Bud Perry of Edgerton OH won the Dave Nagel Excavating Late Model feature.

Sam Marquis of Springhills OH won the Noble Powder Coating Crown Vic feature.


Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page