top of page

Full Night of Speed at Shady Bowl

DeGraff OH: Shady Bowl Speedway kicked off its 75th year of racing with a full program of stock action Saturday (4/17). A nice crowd showed up to watch the action despite the chilly weather. The Wooten Automotive Modifieds 30 lap main saw Jim Lewis Jr jump out front in his Shatto Motorsports open wheeler. Lewis held the point for 25 circuits before tangling with another car, ending his night. Fast qualifier (13.632) and defending track champion Chris Parker of Bellefontaine then took over the lead in his Iron City Sports Bar backed racer and led Gregg Jackson to the checker. Daniel and Logan McPherson were third and fourth, with Scott Jones fifth. Logan McPherson carried the dash checker with the heat win going to Mark Timmerman.

The Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts saw nineteen cars take the green flag for their 25-lap feature. The race turned out to be the best race of the night. Slowed only by a couple of minor spins, it was pedal to the metal all the way. Columbus driver Jason Parsons and Keven Baggett put on a driving clinic as they ran side by side as the laps counted down. The fans were up and cheering as they were headed for the white flag when Baggett slipped high and caught the wall on the backchute. Parsons, in his All City Auto Parts ride took the checker followed by dash winner Tony Heath, Nick Barrett, Jordan Sage and Baggett. Ethan Pope and Scott Henson took heat honors.

Next up was the Bullet Liners of Dayton Thunder Cars. They ran the first of a series of four Thunder and Lightning 75 lap features. The winner of each event will pick up $1000.00. Nine cars dove in to turn one at the drop of the green, with Curtis Noble in the family owned Ford out front. Noble led the first 28 laps before mixing it up with another car and officials placed him at the rear of the field. Xenia’s Scott Drake then took over the lead in Jim Auto Body Monte Carlo. Drake led the remaining laps to carry the checker. Dash winner Brad Blue was second, Noble clawed his way back to third. Fast qualifier (15.397) Robert Roush was fourth with Bob Coppock fifth. Landen Jones was the heat race winner.

The night also marked the debut of the Minor Crown Vic’s. Drivers in the Minor class must be 14-17 years old. In an event that was shortened Gavin Wilcoxson of West Liberty won his first ever feature. Gavin tried his luck last fall in an exhibition race and wiped out a car, so needless to say he was a happy young man, as he fulfilled his childhood dream. He would like to thank the Wilcoxson family, the Noble family and Noble Armor Coating for making his win possible. Sam Marquis was second and Mason Armbruster third.

Next Saturday night (4/24) will feature the Garrett Automotive Street Stock Shoot Out. The Shoot Out will be a 75 lap feature paying $1575.00 to win. The Nagel Excavating Late Models, The Bullet Liner of Dayton Thunder Cars, the Adult Crown Vic’s and Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts will also be on the schedule. Pit gates open at 2. Grandstand opens at 4 and racing at 7 p.m.

Shady Bowl Speedway Results 4-17-21

Wooten Automotive & Towing Modifieds:

Fast Qualifier: Chris Parker 13.632

Dash Winner: Logan McPherson

Heat Winner: Mark Timmerman

Feature: 1. Chris Parker 2. Gregg Jackson 3. Logan McPherson 4. Daniel McPherson 5. Mark Timmerman 6. Scott Jones 7. Rob Bryant 8. Bud Perry 9. Hayden Wren 10. Jim Lewis Jr. 11. Brian Brandyberry

Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts

Fast Qualifier: Dustin Hughes 16.724

Dash Winner: Tony Heath

Heat Winners: Scott Henson and Ethan Pope

Feature: 1. Jason Parsons 2. Tony Heath 3. Nick Barrett 4. Jordan Sage 5. Keven Baggett 6. Aaron Jewel 7. Dustin Hughes 8. Damien Weigel 9. Alec Young 10. Devin Glessner 11. Matt Oppy 12. Charlie Hoepker 13. Scott Henson 14. Tim Bailey 15. Billy Bob George 16.Jaron Fields 17. Destyni Lucas 18. Shane Lewis 19. Ethan Pope

Bullet Liner of Dayton Thundercars

Fast Qualifier: Robert Roush 15.397

Dash Winner: Brad Blue

Heat Winner: Landen Jones

Feature: 1. Scott Drake 2. Brad Blue 3. Curtis Noble 4. Robert Roush 5. Bob Coppock 6. Landen Jones 7. Bill Blue 8. Corey Wooten 9. Hunter Hicks

Noble Armor Coatings Minor Crown Vics

Feature: 1. Gavin Wilcoxson 2. Sam Marquis 3. Mason Armbruster

Photos by Isaacs Photos. Chris Parker of Bellefontaine won the Wooten Automotive Modified feature at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday, April 17.

Photos by Isaacs Photos. Jason Parsons of Columbus won the Harrod Septic Solutions Compact feature at Shady Bowl 4/17

Photos by Isaacs Photos. Scott Drake of Xenia won the Thunder and Lightning 75 for the Bullet Liners of Dayton Thunder Cars at Shady Bowl Saturday taking home $1000.

Photos by Isaacs Photos. 16 year old Gavin Wilcoxson won the Minor Crown Vic Feature at Shady Bowl 4-17 marking his first ever feature win.


Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page